Discuss Among Yourselves

I have been a bad blogger. Unfairly burdening my ever-so-capable partner with the sole responsibility of keeping this operation afloat. I am not prepared to re-enter the fray in earnest. But in the meantime I offer an interesting factual tidbit that came as news to me.

Approximately 7% of males are born without all or part of their foreskin. If you happen to be a member of this 7% and you decide to convert to Judaism you will have to undergo, in place of the traditional circumcision, a hatafat dam brit, a ceremony that entails a light prick of the penis.

Which begs the question: What is a “light prick” of the penis?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Discuss Among Yourselves”


  1. Enough to get one drop of blood.

  2. kate Says:

    seems to me that that 7% are the most holy of anyone. they’re practically born jewish. sounds like the back way in, to me.
    instead, they get pricked anyway.
    sigh.

  3. HW Says:

    You best hope the guy charged with inflicting the small prick isn’t a huge prick himself.


Leave a comment